The Economist Crossword Book Award 2011' Winners Announced

India Infoline News Service | Mumbai |

Indian Author Sudha Murty was the Chief Guest for the evening which also included a memorable performance by Sarod Maestros Amaan & Ayaan Ali Khan.

The finest of Indian Literature took center stage at "THE ECONOMIST CROSSWORD BOOK AWARDS 2011" as the country's finest writers and their books were honoured at a glittering award function in Mumbai. The awards this year are in association with Principal Retirement Advisors and Standard Chartered Bank.

Noted Indian Author Sudha Murty was the Chief Guest for the evening which also included a memorable performance by Sarod Maestros Amaan & Ayaan Ali Khan.

With 330 entries, it is the highest number of entries ever received in the history of the Book Award. The entire judging process has taken more than 6 rigorous months which includes shortlisting the books to announcing the final winner.

Speaking on the occasion  Kinjal Shah (COO - Crossword Bookstores) said, "Crossword bookstores just completed 20 years in the bookstore trade & 11 years of the Book Award. The awards have always been an integral part of the brand & we are thrilled at the way it has risen over the years & supported Indian writing. I also thank The Economist & other sponsors for their support in the endeavour of rewarding the best Indian authors"

Speaking on the occasion Suprio Guha Thakurta, MD of The Economist said, "At The Economist we always marvel at the fact that we have Presidents, pop stars, radio jockeys, designers, school teachers, actors, CEOs, aspiring CEOs, housewives, students, and of course writers all reading the magazine. 

What is common to them to them? We have figured that perhaps curiosity about the world they live in is something that binds them. One thing, though, we know for sure is that they all love to read.  It was but natural for us to associate ourselves with Crossword and we congratulate all the winning authors of The Economist Crossword Book Awards 2012."

Speaking on the occasion Dheeraj Ahluwalia (GM Marketing, India and SouthAsia) Standard Chartered Bank said, "There is no larger good than spreading knowledge. Crossword has been doing just that for over 20 years. 

And with these awards, Crossword further solidifies their commitment to the cause of Indian writing and literature.  'Here for good' is what we believe in. To us, the association with these awards is much more than just sponsorship. It's the amalgamation of a vision towards a larger good."

Speaking on the occasion Sudipto Roy, Business Head- Principal Retirement Advisors said, "Crossword Book Awards is a much respected platform honoring the best of Indian literary talents and we are very excited associating with Crossword for the coveted awards. We feel that it is in line with the Principal's philosophy of recognizing & promoting excellence!"

The 11th edition saw an outstanding response, from the various distinguished writers, publishers, critics and book-lovers who enjoyed the biggest celebration of Indian literature. 

Shortlisted authors, Rahul Bhattacharya, Naresh Fernandes, M J Akbar, S Hussain Zaidi, Rashmi Bansal, Ravinder Singh, Suhel Seth, Rujuta Diwekar, Prakash Iyer, Anita Bhogle, Arshia Sattar, Ravi Subramanian, Arunava Sinha, Catherine Thackerama, R Narayan, Ayesha Kidwai, Arupa Katalia, Deepika Phukan, Aniruddha Sen Gupta & B Vinayan were present at this well-attended event.



  • Save upto Rs.2.67 lakh with Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana ...Know more
  • Now Save Rs.3150 on your Demat Account ...Click here
  • Now get IIFL Personal Loan in just 8* hours...APPLY NOW!
  • Get the most detailed result analysis on the web - Real Fast!
  • Actionable & Award-Winning Research on 500 Listed Indian Companies.