ISACA issues 25,000th CISM Certification

With a worldwide cybersecurity skills shortage and the increasing frequency and impact of attacks, information security managers are in high demand.

May 08, 2014 4:09 IST | India Infoline News Service
The Certified Information Security Manager (CISM) certification has recently been earned by the 25,000th professional since the credential was established in 2002 by global IT association ISACA. With a worldwide cybersecurity skills shortage and the increasing frequency and impact of attacks, information security managers are in high demand. CISM is a globally recognized achievement for these individuals who develop, build and manage enterprise information security programs.

One of four globally recognized certifications from ISACA, CISM received continued accreditation under the ISO standard ISO/IEC 17024:2003 from the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). CISM is ranked among the highest-paying certifications in the most recent Foote Partners IT Skills and Pay Index and in a 2014 study by Global Knowledge.

“Information security managers are being recognized for the value they bring to enterprises, and studies such as those from Foote Partners and Global Knowledge are evidence of that,” said Allan Boardman, CISA, CISM, CGEIT, CRISC, CA (SA), ACA, CISSP, international vice president of ISACA and chair of ISACA’s Credentialing and Career Management Board. “The CISM designation verifies the knowledge and experience needed by a successful information security manager.”

As security continues to top the agenda at enterprises globally, CISM is increasingly in demand, according to certification holders.

“CISM certification has already provided me an advantage when looking for a position in information security industry as more enterprises are requiring the credential,” said Capt. Kieran Jukes, technical officer for the British Army, who recently earned his CISM certification. “Being an ISACA member and now CISM certified has offered me unrivaled professional credibility.”

The CISM exam is administered three times a year at more than 240 locations worldwide in June and December and select locations in September. The exam covers four domains based on the job practice requirements of CISMs worldwide:

  • Information Security Governance
  • Information Risk Management and Compliance
  • Information Security Program Development and Management
  • Information Security Incident Management
ISACA recently launched Cybersecurity Nexus (CSX), a cybersecurity program that provides resources for professionals at every level of their careers. As part of that program, ISACA recently introduced the Cybersecurity Fundamentals Certificate designed for those with 0-3 years of experience. A practitioner-level certification (3-5 years) will be introduced later this year, with the first exam expected in mid-2015. CISM is designed for those with at least five years of experience, including at least three years of management experience.

For additional information on CISM or ISACA’s Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA), Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT (CGEIT) and Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC) credentials, visit www.isaca.org/certification. For information on CSX, visit www.isaca.org/cyber.

FREE Benefits Worth 5,000



Open Demat Account

  • 0

    Per Order for ETF & Mutual Funds Brokerage

  • 20

    Per Order for Delivery, Intraday, F&O, Currency & Commodity