Kapil Sibal felicitates winners of Tata Chemicals Best Chemistry Teachers Awards (BCTA) 2013

These awards are organized in collaboration with CII, ACT, RSC and Godrej.

November 08, 2013 11:50 IST | India Infoline News Service
Winners of the third edition of Tata Chemicals’ "Best Chemistry Teachers Awards (BCTA) were felicitated today by Shri. Kapil Sibal, Minister of Communications and Information Technology and Mr. Sanjiv Lal, Vice President, Corporate Projects from Tata Chemicals. These awards are organized in collaboration with the Confederation of Indian Industries (CII),  Association of Chemistry Teachers (ACT), Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) and Godrej.

BCTA is a part of a larger initiative by Tata Chemicals called the ‘Human Touch of Chemistry’. The aim of these awards is to appreciate exemplary work put in by Chemistry Teachers across India.

Educators across the country have welcomed BCTA awards and perceive it as recognition in their field.  The winners were selected by an eminent panel of academicians and scientists from the leading institutions of India. The winners felicitated today in the four distinct award categories were:

  1. Best Chemistry Teacher (Class XI/XII) – Dr. Yogendra Kothari from Government Excellence Higher Secondary School, Madhavnagar, Ujjain
  2. Best Chemistry Teacher (Bachelor's Degree) – Prof.  Sunita Bhagat from ASRD college, Delhi University and Prof. Suhas Pednekar from Ramnarain Ruia college, Mumbai
  3. Best Chemistry Teacher (For Master's Degree) – Prof. Anil Elias from IIT  Delhi
  4. Best Chemistry Teacher for promotion of Chemistry as a subject – Prof. Prodeep Phukan from Gauhati University, Guwahati

Congratulating the teachers, Mr. Sanjiv Lal, Vice President, Corporate Projects at Tata Chemicals said, “Such an overwhelming response in the third year of our BCTA is heartwarming and reassures us that we are on the right track of encouraging the valuable chemistry teachers who contribute immensely to the growth of this field. This initiative is our way of saluting the teachers for their distinguished efforts in shaping the young minds of our nation through Chemistry, providing them with impetus to innovate and achieve greater success in their field of study. It is an honor to be associated with CII,  ACT, RSC and Godrej  for this award and leverage this platform to felicitate the deserving BCTA winners. We look forward to the continued enthusiasm and support which will enable BCTA to climb greater heights.”

Prof. Prodeep Phukan said “I am grateful to receive this award from Shri Kapil Sibal, and would like to thank Tata Chemicals and all other partners for providing us this platform and encouraging outreach in Chemistry.”

 Dr. Yogendra Kothari said, “I would like to congratulate Tata Chemicals for introducing this award wherein contributions of chemistry teachers are recognized and they are motivated in making chemistry an interesting subject. Such awards not only encourage younger Chemistry teachers to do well, but also popularize chemistry education”.

Prof. Sunita Bhagat said,I am deeply honored to receive this prestigious award. This award undoubtedly encourages more teachers in the education fraternity to apply and further strengthen the bond with Chemistry.”

Prof. Anil Elias said,An award of this stature provides the much needed impetus for revitalizing Chemistry education. I am honoured to be selected as this year’s winner in the postgraduate category.”

Prof. Suhas Pednekar said,The BCTA is a well rounded award that looks into all aspects of a good teacher- research, innovative teaching and chemistry outreach. Am happy to receive this award.”

FREE Benefits Worth 5,000



Open Demat Account

  • 0

    Per Order for ETF & Mutual Funds Brokerage

  • 20

    Per Order for Delivery, Intraday, F&O, Currency & Commodity