6th Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare Day 3 Result

Sandeep Sharma continues to lead in the Extreme Car category while Karthick Maruti maintains top spot in the Endurance category on 3rd Day.

August 08, 2014 2:44 IST | India Infoline News Service
Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare 2014 finally saw its first bright and sunny day after experiencing drizzles in the first half of the rally period. The mercury levels rose on the track as well as during the day, with the competition heating up amongst the teams. Starting from the Vidyanagar township, the rally moved ahead to the Canal stage.

Situated right next to the brimming Tungabhadra canal the flat track featured many ditches and patches of slush, which created several super charged moments with high speed jumps and skids.

The Extreme Car category drivers traveled a total distance of 100 kms during the day, with all Maruti Gypsys ruling the roost on day three. Team Maruti’s Sandeep Sharma and Varun Davessar in their Maruti Gypsy continued to reign supreme as they maintained the lead, clocking a total time of 1:57:19. Upholding their stance in the second spot, the same as yesterday were Team Maruti drivers Sanjay Agarwal and Venu Ramesh Kumar closing at 1:58:52 in their Maruti Gypsy. Determined to move up the table, nine time Raid de Himalaya champion Suresh Rana and Parminder Thakur scorched the track in their Maruti Gypsy, to better their position from yesterday, finally finishing third by end of day 3 with a time of 1:59:23.

Last year’s Dakshin Dare winner and leader of day one, Amanpreet Ahluwalia who finished Day 2 at the 8th spot after receiving a stop and go penalty, sped down the track raising massive clouds of dust as he fast-tracked to the 5th position today. Interestingly, Monish and Jeeva who stood 5th yesterday, moved down the order today, finishing at 7th, as they had a flat tyre twice during the day.

Achieving a hat-trick on day three and maintaining the same ranks since the beginning of the rally in the Extreme Bike category, defending champion of Dakshin Dare 2013, Natraj (1:36:05), Mohit Verma (1:40:04) and Pramod Joshua (1:44:28) stood first, second and third respectively.

For the third day in a row, Team Maruti drivers Karthick Maruti and Sankar Anand maintained their supremacy over the Endurance category with a penalty time of 1:36 as the vehicles traversed 300 kms from Shimoga to Hospet on day three. Grabbing the second spot, Sachin Singh and Pratima finished the day with a penalty time of 2:14.

Again in third place were Ganesh Murthy and T Nagarajan of Team Maruti.
After cementing his place as the numero uno in the Endurance category Karthick Maruti said, “It’s been a tough competition but fun at the same time. The terrain and the rough roads have taken a toll on the vehicles but with the rally traversing through the new route this year, we are prepared for any challenges that it might throw at us.
With drivers like Sachin Singh and Ganesh Murthy closing in on our heels the competition is only going to heat up further.Looking forward to maintaining the lead and come out on top at the end.”

Extreme Results after day 3:
Extreme Cars: Sandeep Sharma/Varun Davessar (1:57:19), Sanjay Agarwal/Venu Ramesh Kumar (1:58:52), Suresh Rana/Parminder Thakur (1:59:23)
Extreme Bikes: Natraj (1:36:05), Mohit Verma (1:40:04), Pramod Joshua (1:44:28)

Endurance Results after day 3:
Kartik Maruti/Shankar Anand (1:36), Sachin Singh/Pratima (2;14), Ganesh Murthy/Nagarajan (2:26)

FREE Benefits Worth 5,000



Open Demat Account

  • 0

    Per Order for ETF & Mutual Funds Brokerage

  • 20

    Per Order for Delivery, Intraday, F&O, Currency & Commodity