With everyone, for everyone, says Modi in victory speech

Most Congress leaders lost, including Sushilkumar Shinde, Kapil Sibal and Sachin Pilot. Arun Jaitley was a prominent loser on the BJP side.

May 16, 2014 6:54 IST | India Infoline News Service
India has seen the strongest election mandate in 30 years since the era of single party governments. Enthusiasm of the Modi-wave saw market hitting to new highs this week yet again. FII inflows continued to drive the indices higher and appreciating rupee which soared to a fresh 10-month high against the dollar also had a positive impact.

Narendra Modi who is set to take charge as the next prime minister of India addressed a mammoth rally, his first after victory at Vadodara. “I am grateful for the responsibility given to serve you all,” Modi said.

He thanked Vadodara for helping BJP to win by a record margin and said that no one has ever won by 5.7 lakh votes in general elections. Gujarat has created history in these general elections with BJP winning all 26 seats.

Most Congress leaders lost, including Sushilkumar Shinde, Kapil Sibal and Sachin Pilot. Arun Jaitley was a prominent loser on the BJP side.

Big winners included J Jayalalithaa’s AIADMK, in Tamil Nadu, and Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress.

The Aam Aadmi Party, which stunned observers by winning the Delhi assembly last year, made an encouraging Lok Sabha debut, leading in a handful of seats in Punjab. But its chief, Arvind Kejriwal lost to Narendra Modi in Varanasi.

A total of 8,251 candidates, including 668 women and five transgenders, contested the Lok Sabha battle. The contestants included 3,234 independents.

Modi, who won from both his constituencies of Varanasi and Vadodara and called it a victory for India, tweeting his poll plank of Ache Din Aane Waale Hain. Modi won from both seats he contested; defeating Arvind Kejriwal, leader of the Aam Aadmi Party, in Varanasi and Madhusudhan Mistry of the Indian National Congress in Vadodara.

Modi won the Vadodara Lok Sabha seat by a margin of 5,70,128 votes. Modi secured 8,45,464 votes out of the total 11.63 lakh votes polled in Vadodara.

Modi is set to hold a rally in Varanasi tomorrow to offer thanks, and then will move to Delhi, his new home.

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and his cabinet will resign tomorrow. Singh will address the nation tomorrow morning before going to meet President Pranab Mukherjee to submit his resign ation at noon.

Modi's landslide win was welcomed with a thundering rally on the stock markets and jubilant celebrations at offices across the country of his BJP, where supporters danced, exploded fireworks and handed out sweets.

The BJP supporters in the US today called for three-day celebrations by lighting "diyas" at their homes, community centers and temples.

FREE Benefits Worth ₹ 5,000



Open Demat Account

  • ₹0

    Per Order for ETF & Mutual Funds Brokerage

  • ₹20

    Per Order for Delivery, Intraday, F&O, Currency & Commodity