Awards presented by KBITS to "Bio-Accelerate" winners

The contestants were judged on various parameters such as – Technology, Business Plan, Core Team, market and product.

Feb 12, 2014 11:02 IST India Infoline News Service

On day 2 of Bangalore India Bio 2014 India's biggest biotech show organised by the department of information technology, biotechnology and science & technology, government of Karnataka and the vision group on biotechnology, KBITS Govt. of Karnataka organised a programme “Bio-Accelerate” where-in 30 entries were selected in which 6 competitors were selected and given 15 minutes for the presentation and were asked questions and evaluated by a jury consisting of Dr. Anand Anand Kumar from Cellworks, Dr. Ram Ramaswamy from CCAMP, Dr. Jagadish Mittur from KBITS, Dr. Gutam from ABLE, Dr. Jitendra Kumar from IBAB / KBITS. Also the Poster Awards, Bio-Excellence Awards, Exhibitors and InterlinX partnering tool awards were also presented at Bangalore INDIA BIO 2014. 
Speaking on this unique programme to encourage start-ups, Dr. Jitendra Kumar – Head of the Life Science Incubation Center, KBITS, Govt. of Karnataka said, We organised this competition to encourage start-ups to project their ideas and concepts on a big forum such as Bangalore INDIA BIO. Participants from across India were invited to present their ideas. Of all the many submissions, 30 were short listed and 6 of them were selected and given the opportunity. The contestants were judged on various parameters such as – Technology, Business Plan, Core Team, market and product. This coincides with the bio-incubation centres that are being made available by the Govt. of Karnataka at the Bangalore Helix. In fact the winners and the finalists will be given a 50% rebate in these incubation centre as an incentive for winning the Bio-Accelerate Live Business plan competition. 
The awards were presented by Shri S.R. Patil, Hon’ble Minister for Information Technology, Biotechnology and Science & Technology; Planning and Statistics, and Infrastructure Development, Government of Karnataka, World Food Prize Laureate 2013 Em. Prof. Dr. Marc Van Montagu and Nobel Laureate 2012 Professor Sir John Gurdon, Kt DPhil DSc FRS, Distinguished Group Leader, The Wellcome Trust/Cancer Research UK, The Gurdon Institute, University of Cambridge, UK in the presence of Shri. Srivatsa Krishna, IAS, Secretary to Government, Department of Information Technology, Biotechnology and Science & Technology and DPAR (e-Governance), Government Of Karnataka and S S Nakul - Director - IT and BT. 
Bio-Accelerate Awards - Live Business Plan Competition 2014

Brief on the three winners and three finalists:

 This is a Bangalore based Start-Up promoted by Dr. Manjari Bakre. The Start-Up is involved in developing a personalized Medicine Diagnosis in the area of Cancer Therapy. This Start-Up is Venture Funded. It is looking forward to network in Bangalore Bio Community for partnership opportunities.
Mir Life Sciences:
 A 3-year old Start-Up is being incubated at IBAB. Dr. Charishiela Ramkumar is a Chief Scientist at this Venture spear-heading the Diagnosis and Prognosis for Oncologists to make better treatment decisions. The technology that they are going to present today involves Oral Cancer Detection using saliva.
String Life Sciences:
 A Start-Up promoted by Dr. Ezhil Subbiane is involved in creating solutions in environmental problems using genetically engineered micro organisms. This year old Start-Up is being incubated at IBAB.
Module Innovations:
 This Start-Up being incubated at NCL Venture Centre, Pune is working on low cost rapid detection of Micro Organisms. 
 This technology is being incubated at TERI & deals with Waste Water Purification at Oil Fields with an additional benefit of production of specialized industrially used chemicals.

Life Catalyst Technologies:
 This Start-Up promoted by Dr Sagar Laygude is based out of IIT Madras and is involved in developing a low cost Diagnostic Blood Glucose Sensor. This technology has won ABLE Crest Award and also was represented in World Economic Forum.
Dr. Charusheila Ramkumar, Mir Life Sciences FIRST

Presented with Rupees Three Lakhs & a Certificate 
Ms. Mohita Sharma, MatSyntoForma / TERI SECOND

Presented with Rupees Two lakhs & a Certificate 
Dr. Manjiri Bakre, OncoStem Diagnostics THIRD

Presented with Rupees One lakh fifty thousand & a Certificate 
Sachin Dubey, Module Innovations Finalist

Dr. Ezhilkani Subbian, String Life Sciences Finalist

Presented with a Certificate 
Dr. Sagar Laygude, Life Catalyst Technologies Finalist

Presented with a Certificate 

Bangalore INDIA BIO 2014 - Best Poster Awards





Rs. 30,000

Anup Kumar Abkari

Manipal College of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Prevention of Neurodegeneration by Naringin: 
An in vitro Study


Rs. 20,000

Aradhana Vipra

GangaGen Biotechnologies 
Pvt. Ltd.

Bacteriophages: An alternative to antibiotics in the poultry industry


Rs. 15,000

Kiranmai G.

Maharani Lakshmi Ammani College for Women

Molecular docking analysis of GC-MS-identified compounds of Cyperus rotundus with anti-diabetic receptors: A dry-wet lab interaction study

Special Recognition Prize

Rs. 10,000

Arpana Kamath

Jawaharlal Nehru University

Selective sensitivity of epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) mutations identified in tyrosine kinase (TK) domain to Gefitinib

Special Recognition Prize

Rs. 10,000

Keerthy H.K.

Bangalore University

Synthesis, Characterization and Cheminformatics Based Identification of Novel 2-Amino-Chromene-Carbonitrile That Targets Bcl-2 in Acute Myeloid Leukemia

Dr. SeetharamAnnadana,
 Trade development Lead & Vegetable R&D Management Lead South Asia, Syngenta India Limited
 Dr. V. N. Balaji, Discovery Research Advisor, Molark Enterprises Pvt. Ltd.
Dr. Sangeeta Naik,
 Director, Cleanergis Bio science Pvt Ltd
Dr. Divakar Rao,
 CEO, DGK BioAgroFoods & Member, Vision Group on Biotechnology, Govt of Karnataka

Bangalore INDIA BIO 2014 : Bio-Excellence Award Winners & Categories

Category Bio-Excellence Award Winner Contacts
BioPharma & Healthcare Serum Institute of 
India Ltd.
Dr. Rakesh Kumar, Director (Production)
Ph: +91-20-26602373
BioAgri Nuziveedu Seeds M Prabhakar Rao, Chairman & MD
CMDs Office:
Subhash S. - +91-95814 12326
BioServices Jubilant Life Sciences Ms. Jayshree Aiyer, VP & Head of Discovery Biology; Ph: +91-90084 88022
BioIndustrial Advanced Enzyme Technologies Ltd. Piyush C. Rathi, Chief Marketing Officer - +91-9920248884
Bhagya: +91-9892173836
BioInformatics & 
Systems Biology
Strand Life Sciences Thiru Reddy, Executive Vice President
+91-80-40787301 (Lorraine: 9686601656)

Category Emerging Company of the Year Contacts
BioPharma & Healthcare Stempeutics Research Pvt. Ltd. B.N. Manohar, President
92 80-39992400, 92 80-39992402
BioServices Anthem Biosciences Pvt. Ltd. Ajay Bhardwaj, CEO & Founder
BioIndustrial Sea6 Energy 
Pvt. Ltd.
Shrikumar Suryanarayan, Chairman
BioInformatics Novo Informatics 
Pvt. Ltd.
Dr. Avinash Mishra, Managing Director - Head, R&D Operations
+91-9311618895 (Will be present with wife)

Bangalore INDIA BIO 2014 - Best Exhibitor Awards
Interactive and Best Managed

Multiplex Group
Life Technologies India Pvt. Ltd.
Omega Scientific Instruments Pvt. Ltd.
Genotypic Technology 
(Announce: We have 3 winners in each category and this a Jury Special Mention)

Bio Content and Information

Guwahati Biotech Park, Govt of Assam
Medix Biochemica

Design and Innovation

Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR)
UK Trade & Investment (UKTI)
EF - Biosys


Prof. N. Yathindra
 - Director, IBAB

Dr. T.M. Manjunath -
 Former Director, Monsanto and Agri Consultant

Milind Kokje -
 Editor, NuFFooDS Spectrum

Related Story

Open Free Demat Account (Rs699)