Lakshmipat Singhania - IIM Lucknow National Leadership awards

Vice-President Hamid Ansari hands over the award to six of the most distinguished individuals, including ITC and naukri.com chiefs

May 28, 2014 2:25 IST | India Infoline News Service
JK Organisation, a leading industrial group in India, in association with Indian Institute of Management- Lucknow, announced the winners of the 9th Lakshmipat Singhania – IIM Lucknow National Leadership Awards.

The awards were bestowed upon the winners at Vigyan Bhavan in New Delhi during an elaborate grand ceremony by the Hon’ble Vice President of India, Mr M. Hamid Ansari. Presented to individuals in recognition of their outstanding social contribution and exceptional leadership talents, the award has been named after the key Architect of JK Organisation, Lala Lakshimipat Singhania. The concept behind the prestigious award is to recognise and encourage young and motivated individuals who have worked those extra miles to bring about social development and have remarkably contributed to the growth of our country.

The recipients are selected through a multi-layer selection process.  The final selection is done by a Jury of eminent and knowledgeable peers from different walks of Society.  The Jury was chaired by Dr.C. Rangarajan, Chairman, Economic Advisory Council to Prime Minister.
Applauding the awardees for their exemplary contribution of making a difference in the society; Hon’ble Vice President Shri Hamid Ansari said, "This is a truly remarkable experience that celebrates human spirit. I take this opportunity to salute Shri Lakshmipat Singhania as he is a fine example of a socially aware entrepreneur and always knew his responsibilities towards society.”
The awards were presented in three categories- Business, Science & Technology and Community Service. The parameters of assessing the awardees were- excellence in work, high personal values, ethics, innovation and establishing balance of disparate forces operating in their respective fields.

Vice President Hamid Ansari conferred the awards to Mr. Y. C. Deveshwar, Chairman, ITC Limited; Mr. Sanjeev Bikhchandani, Founder, Info Edge; Prof. Goverdhan Mehta, National Research Professor and Jubilant-Bhartia Chair Professor, University of Hyderabad; Dr. Shiraz Minwalla, Theoretical Physicist and String Theorist, Department of Theoretical Physics, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai; Dr. Rajinder Johar, Founder, ‘Family Of Disabled’, Delhi; Ms. Anjlee Agarwal, Co-Founder & Executive Director, ‘Samarthyam’, Delhi.
Shri Bharat Hari Singhania, Director, JK Organisation, highlighting the genesis of the awards said, “This marks the 9th chapter of these awards to industry stalwarts for exemplary contribution in the fields of Business, Science & Technology and Social Development and Community Service. We are truly inspired by the work each of the recipients has accomplished in their respective fields.”

Dr. J.J. Irani, Chairman, Board of Governors, Indian Institute of Management – Lucknow, said, “IIM is truly privileged and honored to be associated with JK Organisation and be a part of the recognition given to the individuals for their inspirational work. Through these awards, we aim at acknowledging the initiatives undertaken by individuals in the domain of social service.”
Mr. Devi Singh, Director, IIM Lucknow said, “We are gathered here to honor some of the most outstanding individuals in the country. In today’s socio-economic scenario it is very important to recognize the exemplary work done by individuals for the benefit of the society as they catalyze the path of encouragement.”

Some of the former winners of the Lakshmipat Singhania – IIM Lucknow National Leadership Awards in the last five years are Mr. Azim Premji, Chairman, Wipro Limited, Mr. Vineet Nayar, Vice Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of HCL Technologies Ltd., Shri. Anand G Mahindra, Chairman & Managing Director, Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd.; Sh. Sunil Bharti Mittal, Chairman and Group CEO, Bharti Enterprises, Sh. Kumar Mangalam Birla, Chairman, Aditya Birla Group; Smt. Mallika Srinivasan, CEO Tractors and Farm Equipment, Sh. Kishore Biyani, CEO, Future Group, Prof. C. N. R. Rao, Advisor to Shri. Manmohan Singh, Prime Minister of India, Sh. Ratan N. Tata, Chairman, Tata Sons, Smt. Ela Bhatt, Founder, Self-Employed Women's Association of India (SEWA) etc.

FREE Benefits Worth ₹ 5,000



Open Demat Account

  • ₹0

    Per Order for ETF & Mutual Funds Brokerage

  • ₹20

    Per Order for Delivery, Intraday, F&O, Currency & Commodity